fmpolew.blogg.se

Download joan benoit
Download joan benoit









The 1979 win may have been her first Boston victory, but Samuelson’s leadership in distance running and the women’s running community extended far beyond that first finish line. “I might as well celebrate during an anniversary year, while I’m still able!” “My goal is to to run within 40 minutes of my time 40 years ago, which would be sub-3:15:35,” said the Maine native. Crossing the finish line in 2:35:15 clad in her college uniform and a Red Sox cap, she captured the hearts of New Englanders en route to her memorable win. Samuelson will once again toe the line in Hopkinton, four decades after the then-21-year-old Bowdoin College student set a national and course record at the 83rd Boston Marathon. The 2019 Boston Marathon will be run on Monday, April 15, Patriots’ Day and One Boston Day in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. “And our 35th wedding anniversary coincides with the Berlin Marathon,” she said with a smile.Celebrating the 40th anniversary of her 1979 victory, Samuelson returns to race from Hopkinton to BostonīOSTON – The Boston Athletic Association (B.A.A.) announced today that two-time Boston Marathon champion and Olympic gold medalist Joan Benoit Samuelson will run this year’s Boston Marathon. “That remains to be seen,” said Benoit Samuelson, adding that she would love to complete the Abbott Six Stars (which would require her to run Tokyo, London, and Berlin marathon).

download joan benoit

So what’s the next story to be told for this inspiring legend? “I have more kilometers on these legs this winter than I do miles, meaning I’ve done more cross-country skiing than actual running to save the pounding on the roads.” (I’m not very efficient as a nordic skier so I have to work really hard.)” “I usually run faster in the spring, and I credit Nordic skiing-the upper-body work and strength that I get from that. “I think as people age, cross training can be a huge benefit,” she said. “I don’t feel like it’s 40 years since my first Boston.”Īt 61 years old, she credits cross training for her strong performance today. “I feel blessed,” she said, following the race.

download joan benoit

She placed 3,103rd overall, and 201st among all women. Wearing bib 1979 along with a Bowdoin College singlet (like she had as a then-unknown college student) to commemorate the occasion, Benoit Samuelson finished in 3:04.00, beating her goal by 11 minutes and easily winning her age group.

download joan benoit

“It’s all about the story, and it has been since that date 40 years ago.” “I motivate myself by storytelling, so this seemed like the logical one,” Benoit Samuelson said. Her goal? To finish within 40 minutes of her winning time in 1979, which was 2:35.35. On Monday, Joan Benoit Samuelso n returned to the start line in Hopkinton to celebrate the 40th anniversary of her 1979 Boston Marathon win. Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members!











Download joan benoit